2005 First Year Moot Court Competition

The Final Round of the First Year Moot Court Competition will be held on Friday, April 15 at 6:00 p.m. in Courtroom 10A of the Arlington County Courthouse. 

The prestigious panel for that round will be The Honorable Paul V. Niemeyer, United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, The Honorable Stephen H. Glickman, District of Columbia Court of Appeals, The Honorable Loren A. Smith, United States Court of Federal Claims, and The Honorable Eric G. Bruggink, United States Court of Federal Claims.

Student attendance at the event is encouraged; these arguments are always very impressive.  However, students are advised that seats are limited and will be offered on a first-come-first-serve basis.  Students who want to hear the argument should come early. The Courtroom will open at approximately 5:15, and the Courtroom doors will close at approximately 5:55 p.m.

Here are some pointers on attending the argument:

Business attire is appropriate for this event (no hats).  The less you carry with you, the shorter the security screening time.  Leave your laptops at home; otherwise, you will have to pass through x-ray machines. 

It would be advisable to bring some form of identification, either student id or driver's license.

The following items are prohibited from the Courthouse:  NO cameras, NO food (including gum) or drink, and NO weapons, or any other items that would normally be prohibited in federal buildings, courthouses, or on an airplane.

Students should not rustle papers or talk during the course of the argument.  However, you may make notes quietly.

Directions to Final Round Oral Argument, Friday, April 15:

The courthouse is located one block from Courthouse Metro Station. 

The address is: 

Arlington County Courthouse
10th Floor, Courtroom 10A
1425 North Courthouse Road
Arlington, VA 22201

The Courthouse is approximately 1.15 miles from the school.