Mason Law Students Recipients of NBLSA Awards

The National Black Law Students Association (NBLSA) has announced the selection of Mason Law students Rex Flynn and Ryan Dickson as scholarship recipients.

Flynn, a third-year evening student, received the Rodney Pulliam Memorial Scholarship in the form of a $500 BarBri certificate for his essay on the past and future of affirmative action as it affects African-Americans. He served on the 2005-06 NBLSA Mid-Atlantic Board as the Frederick Douglass Moot Court Chair and is currently serving as the American Bar Association's Lt. Governor of Diversity for the 11th Circuit. Flynn is a 2005 and 2006 recipient of NBLSA's Nelson Mandela and Sandy Brown Memorial Scholarships, respectively, as well as the 2004 recipient of the Glenn Lewis scholarship and the Lillian Caldwell CLEO Book award. Additionally, Flynn is a CLEO 2004 Fellow and a member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated.

Dickson, who began his first year of legal studies as a full-time student in August 2006, has been awarded the Nelson Mandela Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 for his essay on the role of the U.S. government in eliminating genocide in Darfur.

The National Black Law Students Association is the largest student-run organization in America, with 200 chapters at law schools nationwide representing law students in 48 states and Puerto Rico.