Hayward Named to New Congressional Ethics Panel

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and House Republican Leader John Boehner announced on July 24 joint appointments to the board of the new Office of Congressional Ethics, with Professor Allison Hayward among the six appointees named.

The Office of Congressional Ethics, an independent panel, is expected to work closely with the House Ethics Committee, involving private citizens for the first time in the ethics enforcement process.

"The new Office of Congressional Ethics is essential to an effective ethics process in the House," said Speaker Pelosi in a press release. "This bipartisan board of outside experts who will be charged with reviewing allegations of misconduct and making recommendations to the House Ethics Committee. With the creation of the Office of Congressional Ethics, we bring a new element of transparency and accountability to the ethics process."

Board members of the Office of Congressional Ethics are evenly split between the two major parties, with the board comprising six members and two alternates. In addition to Hayward, the board members include former Congressman David Skaggs, Chairman; former CIA Director and former Congressman Porter J. Goss, Co-Chairman; former Congresswoman Yvonne Brathwaite Burke; former House Chief Administrative officer Jay Eagen; former Congresswoman Karan English; and alternate members, former Federal Judge and former Congressman Abner Mikva and former Congressman Bill Frenzel.

"I am pleased that this distinguished group of individuals has agreed to serve," said House Republican Leader Boehner. "the American people have every right to expect the highest ethical standards in the people's House. -- and these widely respected men and women should be applauded for the considerable personal sacrifices they are making to help achieve that important goal."

PELOSI, BOEHNER -- Announce Appointments to New Office of Congressional Ethics, U.S. House of Representative Documents, July 24, 2008.