Current News

Upcoming Events for Students Fall 2009

* Many more events hosted by the law school, student organizations, and alumni association will be added throughout the year. Details are subject to change. Final event information will be distributed via the Mason Law listservs. To the extent possible, audio recordings will be made available for download from the Mason web page.*

 

AUGUST

Fundamental Skills Workshop I – American Legal System, Preparing for Class, and Case Briefing

Saturday, August 22, 9:00-10:30 am OR 11:30 am -1:00 pm, Room 121 

Department of Justice Jobs Information Session

Monday, August 24, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 329

Back to School Happy Hour with Students, Faculty and Staff

Thursday, August 27, 5-6:30 pm, Levy Atrium

 

SEPTEMBER

Federal Government Opportunities

Wednesday, September 2, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

Pathways to International Law Careers, with the ABA

Wednesday, September 9, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225, followed by a reception in the Back Atrium

Judicial Clerkship Interview Advice

Thursday, September 10, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 121

SBA Meet the Student Organizations Fair & Happy Hour

Thursday, September 10, 5:00-7:30 pm, Levy Atrium

Fundamental Skills Workshop II – Synthesizing, Outlining, and Time Management

Saturday, September 12, 9:00-10:30 am OR 11:30 am -1:00 pm, Room 121

Presidential Management Fellow Program Information Session

(jointly hosted by various Mason graduate programs)

Monday, September 14, 5:30-7:00 pm, Arlington Original Building, Room 329

JDs in Business, with Alumni and the Mason School of Management

Wednesday, September 16, 4:30-6:00 pm, Room 225

Constitution Day Lecture with Professor Rabkin

Thursday, September 17, 12:00-1:00 pm, Room 121

JAG Information Session

Monday, September 21, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

Information Session on Domicile Appeals, with Philip Hunt, Associate Registrar for Certification

Monday, September 21, 5:00-6:00 p.m., Room 221

Distinguished Alumni Present:  Practical Tips on How to Outline and Study for Exams

Wednesday, September 23, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225 OR 8:00-9:00 pm, Room 332

Day in the Life Series:  Bankruptcy Lawyers

Wednesday, September 23, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 120

Presidential Management Fellows Program Information Session for Mason Law

Wednesday, September 30, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

Day in the Life Series: Transactional Lawyers

Wednesday, September 30, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 120

 

OCTOBER

Day in the Life Series: Litigators

Wednesday, October 7, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

Mason Law Clinical and Externship Programs 

Tuesday, October 13, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225 

Practice Exams & Exam Preparation Resources

Wednesday, October 14, 4:30-5:30 pm, Room 225 OR 8:00-9:00 pm, Room 332

Day in the Life Series: Immigration Lawyers

Wednesday, October 14, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 120

Choosing Small, Choosing Smart with author and consultant Donna Gerson

Tuesday, October 20, 12:00-1:00 pm, Room 332; individual sessions 1:30-5:00 pm, Room 332

Civil Rights Law Journal Symposium: Education Law

Wednesday, October 21, 3:00-7:00 pm

Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP

875 15th Street, NW, Washington, DC

Small Firm Information Session

Wednesday, October 21, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

Speednetworking with Small Firms

(open to upperclass students first)

Thursday, October 22, Evening, Atrium

Fundamental Skills Workshop III – Exam Taking Tips & Tackling Essay Questions

Saturday, October 24, 9:00-10:30 am OR 11:30 am -1:00 pm, Room 121

Equal Justice Works Public Service Career Fair

Saturday, October 24-Sunday, October 25, All Day, Washington, DC

Day in the Life Series: Immigration Lawyers
Wednesday, October 28, 5:00-6:00 p.m., Room 225

Business Marketing For Lawyers

Thursday, October 29, 6:30-8:00 pm, Room 215

 

NOVEMBER

Kate Patterson: How to Get a Job in Intellectual Property

Week of November 2

No Spin Zone: Get the Skinny on Finding a Job with Upperclassmen

Monday, November 2, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

First-Year Career Orientation Weeks

November 3- November 25, Locations of Introductory Career and Counseling Sessions TBA

Fundamental Skills Workshop IV – Essay, Short Answer & Multiple Choice Questions

Saturday, November 7, 9:00-10:30 am OR 11:30 am -1:00 pm, Room 121

First-Year Applications to Early Hiring Employers

Monday, November 16, 12:30-1:00 pm, Room 120

Department of Homeland Security Honors Program Information Session

(with School of Public Policy)

Monday, November 16, 6:00-7:00 pm, Original Building

Resume & Cover Letter Workshops

Monday, November 16, 12:00-12:30 pm, Room 120

Wednesday, November 18, 12:00-12:30 pm, Room 120

DC/Baltimore Public Service Career Fair Information Session

Wednesday, November 18, 12:30-1:00 pm, Room 332

Day in the Life Series: Energy and Environmental Law Lawyers

Wednesday, November 18, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

 

JANUARY — MAY

First-Year Students’ Shadow/Mentor Program with Alumni

Wednesday, January 13, 8:00-9:00 am, Atrium

Interview Skills Session

Monday, January 18, 12:00 pm and 5:00 pm, Room TBA

Mock Interview Week

Wednesday, January 20-Wednesday, January 27, various times and locations

Virginia Bar Association Professionalism Event for Virginia First-Year Law Students

Wednesday, January 27, Evening, Hazel Hall

DC/Baltimore Public Service Job Fair

Friday, January 29, All Day, Hazel Hall

Speednetworking Event with Alumni (February)

(open to first-year students first)

Spring Recruiting Program (February-April)

Clerkship Information Session (March)

Academic Advising & Planning Session (March)

First-Year Moot Court Competition (March-April)

Business Etiquette Dinner (March-April)

Fall Hiring Season Overview (April)

Judicial & Legislative Reception (May)

Day in the Life Series Continued (January-May) 

          Public Policy Professionals

          Alternative Career Professionals

          Criminal Law Lawyers

          Antitrust Lawyers

          Corporate Litigators and In-House Lawyers

          Health Care Lawyers

 

And much more . . .