Current News

Upcoming Events for Students Fall 2010

Upcoming Events for Students

* Many more events hosted by the law school, student organizations, and alumni association will be added throughout the year. Details are subject to change. Final event information will be distributed via the Mason Law listservs. To the extent possible, audio recordings will be made available for download from the Mason web page.*

 

AUGUST

 

Mock Interviews for Upperclassmen

August 4, 5, 10, and 11, various times and locations

 

Interview Skills Workshop

Thursday, August 12, 6:00–7:00 pm, Room 329

 

Fundamental Skills Workshop I - Acclimating to Law School and An Introduction to the American Judicial System

Tuesday, August 17 – 10:00 am-11:30 am OR 1:00 pm-2:30 pm OR 6:30 pm-8:00 pm

 

BCG Group:  State of the DC Legal Market

Tuesday, August 17, 6:00–7:00 pm, Room 332

 

Department of Justice Jobs Information Session

Monday, August 23, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 121

 

Back to School Reception with Students, Faculty and Staff

Thursday, August 26, 5:00-6:30 pm, Levy Atrium

 

Fundamental Skills Workshop II – Class Preparation & Participation:  Reading Critically, Revisiting the Case Brief, and Note Taking (in and out of class)

Saturday, August 28 – 9:00 am-10:30 am OR 11:30 am-1:00 pm

 

Choosing a Practice Area Presentation by Search Consultants Major Lindsey & Africa

Monday, August 30, 5:00–6:00 pm, Room 329

 

SBA Meet the Student Organizations Fair & Happy Hour

Tuesday, August 31, 4:00–8:00 pm

 

SEPTEMBER


Federal Government Opportunities

Wednesday, September 1, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 329

 

Arlington Campus Life Event

Thursday, September 2

 

Fundamental Skills Workshop III – Synthesizing Material, Outlining, and Time Management

Saturday, September 11 - 9:00 am-10:30 am OR 11:30 am-1:00 pm

 

Judicial Clerkship Interview Advice for 3D/4E Students

Monday, September 13, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 329

 

Day in the Life:  International Law (ABA Pathways to International Law Careers)

Wednesday, September 15, 5:00–6:00 pm, Room 329

(Joint Reception with APALSA /Trial Advocacy to follow in back atrium)

 

APALSA / Trial Advocacy Career Panel

Wednesday, September 15, 5:00–6:00 pm, Room TBA

(Joint Reception with ABA International Law section to follow in back atrium)

 

Constitution Day Lecture with Professor Bernstein

Thursday, September 16, 12:00-1:00 pm, Room TBA

 

Presidential Management Fellows Program Information Session

(jointly hosted by various Mason graduate programs)

Monday, September 20, 5:30-7:00 pm, Arlington Original Building, Room 329

 

Information Session on Domicile Appeals

Monday, September 27, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 121

 

JAG Information Session

Tuesday, September 28, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 329

 

Presidential Management Fellows Program Information Session for Mason Law

Wednesday, September 29, 5:00–6:00 pm, Room 329

 

Information Session on Domicile Appeals w/Phillip Hunt, Associate Registrar for Certification

TBA

 

Information Session on Domicile Appeals,

with Philip Hunt Associate Registrar for Certification

TBA

 

Distinguished Alumni Present:  Practical Tips on How to Outline and Study for Exams

TBA

 

Distinguished Alumni Present:  Nuts and Bolts of Opening Your Own Firm

TBA

 

OCTOBER

 

Day in the Life Series: Copyright / Trademark Lawyers

Monday, October 4, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 225

 

Judge Larry Boyle of the U.S. District Court of Idaho Presents: Finding Success and Satisfaction as a Practicing Attorney

Wednesday, October 6, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 120

 

Day in the Life Series:  Civilian Lawyers in the Military (and DoD and contractor/consultants)

Wednesday, October 13 from 5:00–6:00 pm, Room 329

 

Trial Advocacy Competition

Saturday, October 16 – Sunday, October 17

 

Fundamental Skills Workshop IV – Using Practice Exams and Exam Preparation Resources

Monday, October 18 – 4:30 pm to 5:30 pm OR 8:00 pm to 9:00 pm

 

Mason Law Clinical and Externship Programs Information Session 

Tuesday, October 19, 5:00–6:00 pm, Room 120 

 

Day in the Life:  JDs in Business

Wednesday, October 20, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 329

 

SBA Casino Night

Thursday, October 21, Atrium

 

Journal of Law, Economics & Policy Symposium
Overcriminalization 2.0: Developing Consensus Solutions

Thursday, October 21, Washington, DC

 

Equal Justice Works Public Service Career Fair

Friday, October 22 – Saturday, October 23, All Day, Washington, DC

 

Fundamental Skills Workshop V – Exam Taking Tips and Tackling Essay Questions

Saturday, October 23 - 9:00 am-10:30 am OR 11:30 am-1:00 pm

 

Day in the Life Series:  Employment Law, ERISA, and Corporate Tax

Wednesday October 27, 5:00-6:00 pm, Room 329

 

Civil Rights Law Journal Symposium

TBA 

 

NOVEMBER

 

First-Year Career Orientation Weeks

November 1 - November 25, Locations of Introductory Career and Counseling Sessions TBA

 

Law Firm Management – David Ginsberg and Robert Feisee

Wednedsay, November 3, 4:30-6:00 pm, Room 225

 

Fundamental Skills Workshop VI – Essay, Short Answer and Multiple Choice Questions

Saturday, November 6 - 9:00 am-10:30am OR 11:30 am-1:00 pm

 

No Spin Zone: Get the Skinny on Finding a Job with Upperclassmen

Tuesday, November 9, 12:00–1:00 pm, Room TBA

 

Upperclass Moot Court Competition

Saturday, November 13, and Friday, November 19

 

First-Year Applications to Early Hiring Employers

Monday, November 16, 12:30-1:00 pm, Room 329

 

DC/Baltimore Public Service Career Fair Information Session

Wednesday, November 17, 12:00–1:00 pm, Room 332

 

Day in the Life:  Capitol Hill & Public Policy JDs

TBA

 

Department of Homeland Security Honors Program Information Session

TBA

 

JANUARY - MAY

 

First-Year Students’ Mentor Program with Alumni Kickoff Breakfast

Wednesday, January 12, 8:00-9:00 am, Atrium

 

Small to Mid-sized Firm Events

Week of January 17

 

Mock Interviews

Monday, January 24, and Tuesday, January 25, various times and locations

 

DC/Baltimore Public Service Job Fair

Friday, January 28, All Day, Hazel Hall

 

First-Year Moot Court Competition

Saturday, March 26, 2011 – Opening Rounds

Saturday, April 2, 2011 – Advancing Rounds

Friday, April 8, 2011 – Final Round

 

SPRING EVENTS WITH DATES TBA

 

Interview Skills Session (January)

 

Virginia Bar Association Professionalism Event for Virginia First-Year Law Students (January) 

 

Speednetworking Event with Alumni (February)

(open to first-year students first)

 

Spring Recruiting Program (February-April)

 

ABA Corporate Counsel Presentation (February)

 

Clerkship Information Session (March)

 

Academic Advising & Planning Session (March)

 

Business Etiquette Dinner (TBA)

 

Fall Hiring Season Overview (April)

 

Judicial & Legislative Reception (May)

 

Day in the Life Series Continued (January-May) 

          Alternative Career Professionals

          Criminal Law Lawyers

          Antitrust Lawyers

          Health Care Lawyers

 

And much more . . . .