Former FTC Chairman Muris Receives 2010 Kirkpatrick Award

Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Chairman Jon Leibowitz has announced the selection of Foundation Professor and former FTC Chairman Timothy J. Muris as the 2010 recipient of the Miles W. Kirkpatrick Award for Lifetime FTC Achievement in recognition of Muris's significant contributions to the FTC over the course of his career.

"Tim Muris provided inspired service to the Federal Trade Commission and to the American Public," Leibowitz said in his press release. ""He understood the value of combining economic and legal analyses with common sense, and the measures he advanced to realize this vision, such as the National Do Not Call Registry, raised the FTC's stature among public institutions throughout the world and among our nation's consumers."

Muris served as chairman of the FTC between 2001 and 2004, having served previously during the 70s and 80s as director of the Bureau of Competition, director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection, and assistant director of the Planning Office. In the late 1980s, Muris was an associate director in the Office of Management and Budget.

In addition to his current duties as a Foundation Professor of Law at George Mason, Muris is Of Counsel to the law firm of O'Melveny & Myers, where he serves as co-chair of the firm's Antitrust/Competition Practice.

The Kirkpatrick Award is named for an antitrust attorney who led a 1969 American Bar Association commission whose report initiated substantial reform and reorganization of the FTC. The award was established in 2001 to honor significant contributions to the FTC by individuals throughout their public and private careers.