Student Peter Cockrell Wins 2011 Burton Award

Third-year law student Peter Cockrell has received a 2011 Burton Award for excellence in legal writing, making this the fifth year in a row that the prestigious award has been given to a Mason Law student.

Cockrell, who graduates in May, has been a member of the George Mason Law Review and received the award for his student comment, "Subprime Solutions to the Housing Crisis: Constitutional Problems with the Helping Families Save Their Homes Act of 2009." Cockrell previously had received the 2010 Adrian S. Fisher Award for the Best Student Note or Comment for the same written piece. He is a graduate of the University of Virginia and holds a BA in Foreign Affairs.

As a Burton Award winner, Cockrell has been invited to attend the organization's 12th annual black-tie presentation of the Burton Awards at a reception and dinner in the Great Hall of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., on June 13. Among the guest speakers and honored guests for the event will be U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justices Sonia Sotomayor and Stephen Breyer.

Founded in 1999, the Burton Awards program is run in association with the Library of Congress and its Law Library. Nominations for the award are made by law school deans and managing partners of the 1000 largest U.S. law firms. Fifteen Burton Award law school winners are selected annually from law schools across the nation to receive this award, which honors partners in law firms and law students who set a high standard for clarity and effectiveness in legal writing.

The awards are selected, generally, by professors from Harvard Law School, University of Pennsylvania Law School, the University of California at Irvine School of Law, among others. Judge Richard Posner (7th Circuit US Court of Appeals), Chief Judge Alex Kozinski (9th Circuit US Court of Appeals), U.S. Senator John Cornyn, U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr., Chairman Spencer Bachus, Judith Kaye (Chief Judge of the New York Court of Appeals) (retired), and Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan of California are honorary members on the Board of Directors.

Read more about the Burton Award