Sean Clerget Becomes Sixth Mason Law Student in a Row to Receive Burton Prize

Sean ClergetFor the sixth consecutive year, a Mason Law student is the recipient of the prestigious Burton Award for excellence in legal writing, with 2012 honors going to Sean Clerget, a graduating third-year law student.

Clerget was Articles Editor of the George Mason Law Review and received the award for his student comment, "Time is of the Essence: Reviving the Neutral Law of General Applicability Standard Writing and Applying it to Restrictions Against Religious Face Coverings Worn While Testifying in Court." Clerget previously had received the 2011 Adrian S. Fisher Award for the Best Student Note or Comment for the same article. He is a graduate of the Wabash College where he was awarded a BA in Political Science.

As a Burton Award winner, Clerget has been invited to attend the organization's 13th annual black-tie presentation of the Burton Awards at a reception and dinner in the Great Hall of the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C., on June 11. Among the guest speakers and honored guests for the event will be U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice John Paul Stevens (retired).

Founded in 1999, the Burton Awards program is run in association with the Library of Congress and its Law Library. Nominations for the award are made by law school deans and managing partners of the 1000 largest U.S. law firms. Fifteen Burton Award law school winners are selected annually from law schools across the nation to receive this award, which honors partners in law firms and law students who set a high standard for clarity and effectiveness in legal writing.

The awards are selected, generally, by law professors from selected universities. Judge Richard Posner (7th Circuit US Court of Appeals), Chief Judge Alex Kozinski (9th Circuit US Court of Appeals), U.S. Senator John Cornyn, U.S. Senator Robert P. Casey, Jr., Chairman Spencer Bachus, Judith Kaye (Chief Judge of the New York Court of Appeals) (retired), and Supreme Court Justice Carol Corrigan of California are honorary members on the Board of Directors.

Read more about the Burton Award