Scalia Law School Class of 2017 Celebrates Graduation

On Saturday, May 20, the Antonin Scalia Law School awarded 153 JD degrees and 19 LLM degrees at the annual graduation celebration held at the university's Fairfax Campus. Dean Henry N. Butler presided over the ceremony.

2017 Law Graduates
Class of 2017. Photo by Evan Cantwell.

The guest speaker was William H. Mellor, Chairman and Founding General Counsel, Institute of Justice. Graduating students elected Suzanne FitzGerald, Director of the First Year LRWA Program, to deliver the faculty address. Kathleen Smithgall and Rodney W. Harrell were speakers for the day and evening classes, respectively. Student Bar Association President Khouryanna DiPrima also delivered remarks.

Dean Butler presented a number of awards to graduating students including the Daniel D. Polsby Award for Excellence in Leadership to Christine Liguori Cedar, Rodney W. Harrell, and Kathleen Smithgall; and the Emerging Leader in Public Service Award to Jamesian Dillon Emmanuel. Two new awards for faculty and staff excellence were presented to Professor Michael Davis (Law School Teaching Excellence) and to Ilissa Belanger, Associate Director of Career Services (Dean's Award for Excellence). David Charles Grossman and Todd D. Kelly had the distinction of graduating summa cum laude.

Music for the law school celebration was provided by the George Mason University Jazz Ensemble. A reception for attendees was held after the ceremony.

A recording of the ceremony is available on the Mason website.

The 2017 Graduation Program is available online.