As of 4-24-18 (ALL DATES SUBJECT TO CHANGE)

2018 Spring Semester

  • Monday, January 8 — LLM Extended Orientation  
  • Monday, January 15 — Martin Luther King Birthday observed - University closed.  
  • Tuesday, January 16 — Spring semester classes begin.  Last day to pay spring tuition without late fee. Last day to file Domicile Appeal for the Spring 2018 semester.
  • Tuesday, January 23 — Last day to add spring courses without academic approval. After January 23 Course Add forms with written permission from the instructor and the Director of Student Academic Affairs are required for processing by the Records Office. Last day to drop a course and receive a 100% tuition refund.
  • Tuesday, January 30 — Last day to drop spring courses without academic approval. Course Drop forms must be submitted to the Records Office for processing. Last day for 67% tuition refund (33% tuition liability).
  • Monday, February 5 — May and July graduation applications distributed.  Due in Records Office by February 16.
  • Tuesday, February 6 — Last day to drop a course (with academic approval) and receive a 33% tuition refund (67% tuition liability). Written permission from the Director of Student Academic Affairs is required. After February 6 there is no tuition refund and 100% tuition liability.
  • Tuesday, February 20 — Last day to drop a course with academic approval. 100% tuition liability. Written permission from the Director of Student Academic Affairs is required. After February 20 students must Withdraw from courses and receive a "W" on transcripts, absent a waiver.
  • Monday, March 12 - Sunday, March 18 — Spring recess.
  • Monday, April 30 — Spring semester classes end.
  • Tuesday, May 1 - Wednesday, May 2 — Reading days.
  • Thursday, May 3 - Thursday, May 17 — Examinations.  (The last exam is scheduled for May 15.  May 16 & 17 are reserved for makeup exams due to schedule conflicts and inclement weather.) 
  • Saturday, May 19 — Law School commencement ceremony for December 2017, May 2018 and July 2018 graduates.

2018 Summer Term

  • Monday, May 21 — Summer term classes begin.  Last day to pay summer tuition without late fee. Last day to file Domicile Appeal for the Summer 2018 semester. 
  • Friday, May 25 — Last day to add or drop summer courses without academic approval.  Last day to drop a course and receive a 100% tuition refund.  After May 25, there is no tuition refund and 100% tuition liability.
  • Monday, May 28 — Memorial Day - University Closed.
  • Wednesday, July 4 — Independence Day - University Closed.
  • Tuesday, July 10Observe WEDNESDAY schedule.  Summer term classes end. 
  • Wednesday, July 11 — Reading Day.
  • Thursday, July 12 - Friday, July 13 — Examinations.

2018 Fall Semester

  • Monday, July 23 — LLM Orientation Begins
  • Tuesday, July 31— Fall Recruiting Off-Campus Interview Programs Begin (NY and DC)
  • Monday, August 6 — Fall Recruiting On-Campus Interview Programs Begin
  • Friday, August 10 - Wednesday, August 15 — First Year / Transfer Student Orientation             
  • Monday, August 13 - Wednesday, August 15 — Upperclass / Returning JD Student Orientation
  • Thursday, August 16 — Fall semester classes begin.  Last day to pay fall tuition without a late fee.  Last day to file a Domicile Appeal for the Fall 2018 semester.
  • Thursday, August 23 — Last day to add a fall course without academic approval. (After August 23, students must submit a Course Add form, signed by the instructor and Director, Student Academic Affairs, in order to add a course).  Last day to drop a course and receive a 100% tuition refund.
  • Thursday, August 30 — Last day to drop a fall course without academic approval.  (To drop a course, please submit a Course Drop form to the Records Office. After August 30, the Course Drop form must include academic approval, i.e., must be signed by the Director, Student Academic Affairs).  Last day to drop a course and receive a 67% tuition refund (33% tuition liability).
  • Monday, September 3 — Labor Day, University Closed
  • Thursday, September 6 — Last day to drop a fall course with academic approval and receive a 33% tuition refund (67% tuition liability). After September 6, there is no tuition refund and 100% tuition liability.
  • Thursday, September 20 — Last day to drop a fall course with academic approval. No tuition refund is available (100% tuition liability). After September 20, students may not drop a course, but may seek to Withdraw from a course and receive a “W” on their transcript.
  • Wednesday, October 3 — December graduation applications distributed.  Due in Records Office by October 15.
  • Monday, October 8 — Columbus Day, Fall Recess
  • Tuesday, October 9 — Observe a MONDAY schedule
  • Wednesday, November 21 - Sunday, November 25—Thanksgiving Recess
  • Wednesday, November 28 — Fall semester classes end
  • Thursday, November 29 - Friday, November 30 — Reading Days                  
  • Saturday, December 1 - Monday, December 17 — Examinations.  The last scheduled exam is Friday, December 14.  Saturday and Monday, December 15 & 17 are reserved for make-up exams due to schedule conflicts or other schedule changes.
  • Thursday, December 20 — University December Graduation Ceremony.  December Law graduates may participate in the December ceremony and/or the Law Convocation Ceremony in May open to all December, May, and July graduates.
  • Monday, December 24 - Wednesday, January 2 — University Closed

2019 Winter Term

  • Thursday, January 3 - Sunday, January 13 — Winter Term classes and professional development and academic programming.  Note:  In the event Winter Term classes must be rescheduled for weather or other reasons, students should plan for weekend make-up sessions.
  • Thursday, January 3 — Last day to add a Winter Term class.
  • Tuesday, January 8 Last day to drop a Winter Term class and receive 100% tuition refund. After January 8, there is no tuition refund for Winter Term classes and 100% tuition liability.

2019 Spring Semester

  • Monday, January 14 — Spring semester classes begin.  Last day to pay spring tuition without a late fee. Last day to file a Domicile Appeal for the Spring 2019 semester.
  • Monday, January 21 — Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday observed - University Closed
  • Tuesday, January 22 — Last day to add a spring course without academic approval. (After January 22, students must submit a Course Add form, signed by the instructor and Director, Student Academic Affairs, in order to add a course).  Last day to drop a course and receive a 100% tuition refund.
  • Tuesday, January 29 — Last day to drop spring courses without academic approval. (To drop a course, please submit a Course Drop form to the Records Office. After January 29, the Course Drop form must include academic approval, i.e., must be signed by the Director, Student Academic Affairs). Last day to drop a course and receive a 67% tuition refund (33% tuition liability).
  • Tuesday, February 5 — Last day to drop a spring course with academic approval and receive a 33% tuition refund (67% tuition liability). After February 5 there is no tuition refund and 100% tuition liability.
  • Wednesday, February 6 — May and July graduation applications distributed.  Due in Records Office by February 18.
  • Tuesday, February 19 — Last day to drop a spring course with academic approval.  No tuition refund is available (100% tuition liability).  After February 19 students may not drop a course, but may seek to Withdraw from a course and receive a “W” on their transcript.
  • Monday, March 11 - Sunday, March 17 — Spring Recess           
  • Monday, April 29 — Spring semester classes end
  • Tuesday, April 30 - Wednesday, May 1 — Reading days
  • Thursday, May 2 - Thursday, May 16 — Examinations.  The last exam is scheduled for Tuesday, May 14.  May 15 & 16  are reserved for makeup exams due to schedule conflicts or other schedule changes
  • Friday, May 17 — University Commencement, Eagle Bank Arena
  • Saturday, May 18 — Law School Commencement ceremony for December 2018, May 2019, and July 2019 graduates.

2019 Summer Term

  • Monday, May 20 — Summer term classes begin.  Last day to pay summer tuition without a late fee.  Last day to file a Domicile Appeal for the Summer 2019 semester. 
  • Friday, May 24 — Last day to add or drop summer courses without academic approval.  Last day to drop a course and receive a 100% tuition refund.  After May 25, there is no tuition refund and 100% tuition liability.
  • Monday, May 27 — Memorial Day - University Closed
  • Thursday, July 4 — Independence Day, University Closed
  • Tuesday, July 9 — Summer term classes end.
  • Wednesday, July 10 — Reading Day
  • Thursday, July 11 - Friday, July 12 — Examinations.   Monday, July 15 is reserved as a makeup day for examinations.