Scalia Spotlights

Moot Court Team Reaches National Finals in ABA Appellate Advocacy Contest

Moot Court Team
From left: Kelly Deibler, Gabriella Mahan, Ryan McDonald, Ernest Isenstadt (professor/coach), Rachel Petrik, Julia Banegas, Brandy Wagstaff (professor/coach), and Claire O’Rourke.

The Scalia Law Moot Court team of Gabriella Mahan, Claire O’Rourke, and Rachel Petrik won all five of their matches of the ABA’s D.C. region, qualifying to become regional co-champions in the National Appellate Advocacy Contest. Petrik was recognized as the #1 best oralist of more than 65 students eligible for recognition, and O’Rourke was recognized as the #7 best oralist. The team also received the #2 best brief award.

The #1 best brief award went to the other Scalia Law team of Julia Banegas, Kelly Deibler, and Ryan McDonald, who reached the semifinal round of the contest. McDonald was recognized as #4 best oralist in the event.

As one of the four regional co-champions, the team of Mahan, O’Rourke, and Petrik will now advance to the national finals in Chicago, April 11-13. Twenty-four teams, from the nearly 200 initially entered in the six regional events, will compete for the national championship.