Scalia Spotlights

Scalia Law Takes First Place at National Moot Court Competition

Left to right: Justin Angotti, Krystalyn Weaver, Abigail Hall, Sophie Munroe, Evan Draim, Allison Hemmer

Moot Court Board members Evan Draim (‘3L), Allison Hemmer (‘3L), and Krystalyn Weaver (‘4E), won all six of their matches to take first place among 48 teams at the Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition sponsored by Elon University School of Law on October 22-24. Ms. Weaver was named best oral advocate in the final round, which was held via Zoom before a panel of six judges drawn from the Fourth Circuit, North Carolina Supreme Court, and others.

In the same event, the team of Justin Angotti, Sophie Munroe, and Abigail Hall (all ‘3L), reached the octofinals. Mr. Angotti was recognized as best oral advocate in the preliminary rounds, placing first among more than 70 competitors who were eligible for the award.

The teams were coached by adjunct professors Ernie Isenstadt and Brandy Wagstaff. Isenstadt noted that “the students worked really hard to adapt their talents to the Zoom format, and the judges were impressed by both their style and their nuanced understanding of the issues in the case.”